Author Topic: Zune Problem  (Read 6191 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cousinoer5

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 1
  • Gender: Male
Zune Problem
« on: December 28, 2007, 12:04:52 am »
I bought my brown 30GB Zune about a month ago and everything was in perfect conditon. Then today when I went to select a song, I selected a song and it just froze up. At first I thought it was lagging but I tried to turn it off and I think I did, but now it won't respond to any button presses and won't connect with my computer anymore  :(. I didn't do anything out of the ordinary with it today and the song I was going to play wasn't corrupted or anything. So is there any way to fix this? I didn't see any sort of reset button anywhere on it, but is there some way to make it reset? (I don't really care if the reset process deletes all the songs on the Zune, I got those archived, I just don't want to be out of a $200 investment only a month after buying it) hopefully someone can answer this question, I recently lost an MP3 player somewhere and my 20GB Zen refuses to connect to the computer so I really don't want to lose a 3rd MP3 player so soon. Thanks in advance for any help.

Lysix

  • Guest
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2007, 12:18:08 am »
let the battery die out?

Offline Kehe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2007, 12:29:02 am »
shouldnt you be able to hold down the select button for 5 seconds like an ipod to reset it? if not, holding select and menu at the same time for a few secs does a proper hard reset too :)
Kehehehe

Offline SomethingApt

  • Moderator
  • Machinae Prime
  • ***
  • Posts: 4155
  • Karma: 112
  • Gender: Male
  • [this space for rent]
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2007, 05:19:33 am »
As with every other problem known to man: Google is your friend!

http://www.tech-recipes.com/rx/1864/zune_how_to_reset

Quote
If your Zune locks up or fails to respond, you can reset it by following this tech-recipe:

1. Make sure that the Hold switch is turned off.

2. Hold down the Back button and Up on the control pad until you see the Zune logo appear on the screen.

Once the device finishes starting up, your Zune should function as normal. This procedure will not delete any of your media files.

(first result found after searching for "zune reset")

And if that doesn't work... you bought it a month ago, surely it's still in warranty?


Offline yas‮

  • The laziest one.
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I believe in respawn.
    • Me on SoundCloud
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2007, 06:45:59 am »
At least it doesn't have the Red Ring of Death.

Offline Irrationalist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2240
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2007, 12:38:59 pm »
I had that problem with my 30 before I upgraded to my 80.

There is a way to turn it off manually. Do that and you should be good..... in fact let me look it up...

I guess you "hold the Down and Back button" for five seconds.

Offline SomethingApt

  • Moderator
  • Machinae Prime
  • ***
  • Posts: 4155
  • Karma: 112
  • Gender: Male
  • [this space for rent]
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2007, 02:59:17 pm »
There is a way to turn it off manually. Do that and you should be good..... in fact let me look it up...

I guess you "hold the Down and Back button" for five seconds.

Should i even bother posting? :P

Offline Bocom

  • SiteDeveloper
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1535
  • Karma: 9
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm in despair!
    • Woah there!
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2007, 05:09:26 pm »
There is a way to turn it off manually. Do that and you should be good..... in fact let me look it up...

I guess you "hold the Down and Back button" for five seconds.

Should i even bother posting? :P

Of course. <3
This quote is out of context:
Quote
<Bocom> I'm also going to see Quantum of Solace later
<Syndicated> Bocom: it is fucking scary
Quote
(@Radicz0r) Fuck! Its friday, and you wankers are talking about PIE. Pie! What the hell?

Offline Lexx

  • Ministry of Cynicism
  • Community Supporter
  • Full Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 694
  • Karma: 31
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2007, 07:34:27 pm »
I bought my brown 30GB Zune

There's your problem right there.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2007, 05:23:08 pm by Rehevkor »
DRAMA

Offline yas‮

  • The laziest one.
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
  • Karma: 36
  • Gender: Male
  • I believe in respawn.
    • Me on SoundCloud
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2007, 05:58:51 am »
If it wasn't brown, it wouldn't have crashed!

Offline Lexx

  • Ministry of Cynicism
  • Community Supporter
  • Full Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 694
  • Karma: 31
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2007, 05:28:32 pm »
The HMS Point and the USS yasiekk pass silently in the night..


(I know you're joking, just needed an excuse to use that line)
DRAMA

Offline Outboundlight

  • Renegade Anarchist Folk Hero
  • Global Moderator
  • Machinae Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 7752
  • Karma: 152
  • Gender: Male
  • Rogue World Asylum Seeker
    • No Art Films
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2007, 01:40:28 am »
I bought my brown 30GB Zune

There's your problem right there.

I knew someone was going to say that as soon as I saw this topic!

Offline Drakonis

  • Fighter from Ninne
  • Community Supporter
  • Sr. Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1849
  • Karma: 56
  • Gender: Male
  • "I am mine own Redeemer."
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2008, 02:07:33 am »
You ever figure out this problem?

Just curious. I hadn't thought about it, but during the firmware update I actually wiped my zune with a button press combination. It eludes me, but there is a wipe and reset combination as well.

(My firmware update problem turned out to be a vista not giving my Zune administrative access problem, lawl). I absolutely love Zune 2.0 Hardware/software... the fact that MS actually gave it to those of us with the older Zune models was shocking too. It can do things it COULD NOT do out of the box and it is *hides behind a shield* in MY opinion, better than the ipods I've owned, seen, or touched in the past.

It helps that I have a friend that also has one, the wireless tossin' music back and forth to sample each others bands is fun and handy.

Mine is also brown. /shrug

Offline Irrationalist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2240
  • Karma: 2
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2008, 07:44:34 am »
I like that they updated the zune software on the oldies as well.

I currently have an 80gb ; )

Offline Drakonis

  • Fighter from Ninne
  • Community Supporter
  • Sr. Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1849
  • Karma: 56
  • Gender: Male
  • "I am mine own Redeemer."
Re: Zune Problem
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2008, 04:22:36 am »
I like that they updated the zune software on the oldies as well.

I currently have an 80gb ; )

Nice!

With the update I'm totally happy with mine, don't want or need anything else on the market. It's gorgous!

When it fills up I'll upgrade to the latest Zune, but I just haven't put enough on it to make a huge dent yet. Lots of music and tons more space to go. Eventually I'll get there!