Author Topic: Need some clarification :s Amps and effects!?  (Read 7333 times)

Offline Chimeray

• I'm a llama!
Need some clarification :s Amps and effects!?
« on: December 21, 2007, 12:17:22 pm »
Hi, I'm new to the world of amps I'm still playing with my starters pack, I decided to buy a decent guitar first, bought the Ibanez RG2620E which I love!!! So now I need an amp, I thought of spending like €800 on it without effects. I've heard tube amps are better so I'm looking into them. But I've come across a bigger problem... effects, I really like effects and to mess around with them but I can't be bothered to buy all these seperate pedals so I was thinking of a multi-effects sort of thing but there are so many sorts! I'm very confused, what are these pre-amps, and those line 6 pod/toneport/guitarport things? And rackmounted effects like the G-sharp of TC Electronic? Can anyone clarify that for me? :s

I would like to get somewhere close to the MaSu sound and they've put their toneport/guitarport samples online but I don't really know what they do but I guess you'll need them to get their sound?

Thanks!

Offline megashroom°

• Things!
Re: Need some clarification :s Amps and effects!?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2007, 01:39:06 pm »
Machinae Supremacy currently uses Line 6 guitar port with the Metal addon for recording.

I am quite shure that you can create similiar sounds with something from the line 6 pod series. I've only used Line 6 XT, and it is awsome.
But i've heard from a friend that Pocket Pod is great. It does not cost as much as the XT or X3 (and it is small as hell).

http://line6.com/pocketpod/
http://line6.com/podxt/
http://line6.com/podx3/

X3 is the newest one. And they announce it as "The most powerful pod ever".

There are also floor versions of them, if you wanna get live.

Another great multi effect thing is the Boss GT-8.

http://www.bosscorp.co.jp/products/en/GT-8/index.html

You shound test some in a music store.

Offline Jack Lupino