Author Topic: Why is singing while playing so hard...  (Read 3449 times)

Offline greasemonkey

• I'm a lover, not a fighter. But I'l crack ya teeth
Why is singing while playing so hard...
« on: July 18, 2006, 01:25:49 pm »
Is it just me, or is this excrutiatingly difficult...how do all them musicians do it?

I play guitar, and have tried to play and sing along to Taylor (jack johnson) several times, and I always screw the rhythm or lose my voice cause I'm too focused trying to keep it.

can anyone else do it? Is this a skill that needs as much practice as the song itself?

maybe one day it will just come to me...

the ru

Re: Why is singing while playing so hard...
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2006, 03:20:28 pm »
I've never had any particular problems with it (probably because I have a lot of experience from building rhythms and drum patterns in software), but I know people who have. So yes, it takes practice. Just take it slow the first time and don't speed things up until you've gotten enough into the rhythm to feel where each note should go.

MDX

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2006, 04:23:34 pm »
You have to become comfortable with your instrument before you knock it up a notch, the notch in itself is probably still your instrument, you need to become more comfy before you can multitask, i was like that for ages, now i can play drums and sing, and play keys and sing at the same time.. its something that takes alota time though, but totally worth it.. esp if you can sing :P

the ru

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2006, 11:04:43 pm »
So what about playing guitar with one hand (you could strum it with your nose, or genitalia), keyboard with the other, drums with your feet (and a tambourine on top of your head), and singing?

MDX

« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2006, 11:09:26 pm »
Youll need a really big dick first.

the ru

« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2006, 12:23:12 am »
At least you won't need any drumsticks.

Offline Kernel

« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2006, 01:30:00 am »