Author Topic: Keyboard/Synth Help.. What to buy, what to buy?  (Read 2632 times)

Offline Drakonis

• Fighter from Ninne
  • "I am mine own Redeemer."
Keyboard/Synth Help.. What to buy, what to buy?
« on: May 26, 2006, 05:26:54 pm »
I'm a beginner keyboardist. Currently I have an old Casio which I've been learning on for quite some time and I added a Korg Micro Synth to my collection a while back as well. My experience is highly limited, but I have self-taught myself to play well enough to play live with a band. Basically, I'm saying I still have a ways to go and my knowledge of Synths in particular is fairly limited... But since I'm playing live (and not doing too shabby either!) I need decent sounding equipment.

This all came about since I've been practicing in my room for months and my best friends, whom all happen to be in the same band, lost their keyboardist. I was drafted and were all pretty happy with the result so far.

Regardless, my problem comes into play here: While I've taught myself to let my fingers fly semi-decently (lol) I still have little technical experience with Synths. Therefor, I really have -no idea- what to buy.

I believe Gordon uses a pair of MO6, which I was actually looking at prior to doing a search since I think I'd rather a full size synthesizer over a standard keyboard. The price seems a bit steep on them though at roughly 1400 USD. If I could find one for 1000 USD, I'd probably get it simply knowing one of my deities uses one :P. I'd prefer to find something in the 600-700 USD range, with 1000 USD being my cap unless something was just so magical that I needed to toss out a few extra bucks.

Anywho, you get the basics of my plight. Any suggestions from people with some actual experience would be most excellent. Thanks :)

Edit: Please forgive the quickly typed post. At work and gotta make my posts quick :P
« Last Edit: May 26, 2006, 05:29:09 pm by Drakonis »

MDX

Re: Keyboard/Synth Help.. What to buy, what to buy?