Author Topic: Quake 4  (Read 10172 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SomethingApt

  • Moderator
  • Machinae Prime
  • ***
  • Posts: 4155
  • Karma: 112
  • Gender: Male
  • [this space for rent]
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #30 on: October 23, 2005, 01:10:33 am »
the mp is a step back from quake 3, im dissapointed. sp is nice, but runs like shit on my rig. i prefer FEAR.

chompy

  • Guest
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #31 on: October 24, 2005, 03:04:33 am »
I purchased it the other day and cannot stop playing it. I'm actually impressed, the storyline drags you into the game to make you want to play more.

I've only had one multiplayer game as of yet and didnt seem to do too badly. Considering I've stopped playing fps games for a while now.

I have a 2500+, 1gig ram, 9600 non-pro and run it fine. Runs better then Doom3 even! It only has ever slowed down twice, when there was a big bad boss and another big bad boss area.

Offline Trezker

  • Machinae Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 2794
  • Karma: 60
  • Gender: Male
  • I don't eat food!
    • Trezker is a programmer
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #32 on: October 24, 2005, 10:41:12 am »
Nah, Rag Doll Kung Fu FTW!

You have the power of TIME ON YOUR HANDS. -Laser
"Oh come on Trez, everyone knows you're sexy" -Spider Chii

Offline ReKlipz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • mmmhmmm
    • mnEngine - OpenGL 3D Engine
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #33 on: October 24, 2005, 04:42:03 pm »
oi

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ (400MHz FSB verzion)
768MB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Onboard DD 5.1
ATI Radeon 9600 (says Pro, but have to use NON Pro BIOS) 256MB verzion

so, if you happen to have a 256MB 9600, could u find out the type of memory it has on it(says on the chips themselves), and if it is elixir memory, could you post your BIOS, cause i f**ked my up and forgot to save it... thanks!!

MDX

  • Guest
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #34 on: October 24, 2005, 08:50:06 pm »
Nah, Rag Doll Kung Fu FTW!

HELLLL no.

Offline Jack Lupino

  • Worst Dude
  • Machinae Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 12941
  • Karma: 62
  • Gender: Female
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #35 on: October 25, 2005, 01:09:38 am »
the mp is a step back from quake 3, im dissapointed. sp is nice, but runs like shit on my rig. i prefer FEAR.

F.E.A.R ftw !!

Offline SpeedD

  • Machinae Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 3384
  • Karma: 46
  • Gender: Male
  • Canada, BITCH!
    • Egg!
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #36 on: October 25, 2005, 03:26:54 am »
the mp is a step back from quake 3, im dissapointed. sp is nice, but runs like shit on my rig. i prefer FEAR.

F.E.A.R ftw !!


...no.

There's nothing else to it, just no.
"What I felt was turned, in the tempest forged to hate. My soul I disconnected, and called out the Lightbringer to the gate."

Offline Einkoro

  • Machinae Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 2771
  • Karma: 59
  • Gender: Male
  • ~tima
    • http://www.janpingel.com/
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #37 on: October 25, 2005, 04:53:54 am »
Quote
F.E.A.R. easiest mode > Quake IV hardest mode.

Sorry gang, but giving monsters more hit points and damage isn't good A.I.

2001 called and said they wanted their gameplay back.

Has anyone played Star Trek Elite Force? Yeah? How about Quake 2? Grats! You've already won Quake 4. Graphics are great, gameplay is retro. Overall, a very average experience. Multiplayer would rock if I didn't already have Quake III. Oh, cool -- I can play the exact same game with a few more polys and 5x more lag. Kick ass!
"Don't believe anyone when they tell you irony is just a literary convention. It's a universal constant, like the coefficient of gravity." - Alfred Bester

Offline harvey danger

  • Machinae Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 4289
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • Werd
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #38 on: October 25, 2005, 05:41:37 am »
That's why you wait to play it on the 360, so there's no lag and more people to play with.  ;D
That's the problem with heroes, really. Their only purpose in life is to thwart others. They make no plans, develop no strategies. They react instead of act. Without villains, heroes would stagnate. Without heroes, villains would be running the world. Heroes have morals. Villains have work ethic.

Offline Einkoro

  • Machinae Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 2771
  • Karma: 59
  • Gender: Male
  • ~tima
    • http://www.janpingel.com/
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #39 on: October 25, 2005, 08:50:19 am »
That's why you wait to play it on the 360, so there's no lag and more people to play with.  ;D
Except you won't be able to hit the broadside of a space barn because controllers suck.
"Don't believe anyone when they tell you irony is just a literary convention. It's a universal constant, like the coefficient of gravity." - Alfred Bester

chompy

  • Guest
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #40 on: October 25, 2005, 09:57:43 am »
I believe my radeon is a 128 meg version, I cannot confirm the ram on the video card because I'd have turn off my computer and unplug it. Don't really want to do that as of yet.

Offline Bates

  • Forum Legend
  • Community Supporter
  • Machinae Prime
  • ******
  • Posts: 5099
  • Karma: 108
  • Gender: Male
  • Bateman 2.0
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #41 on: October 25, 2005, 09:01:50 pm »
I forgot what gfx card I have. I was surprised that Doom 3 ran quite well.

Offline L'homme magique

  • Machinae Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 5307
  • Karma: 66
  • Gender: Female
  • Stay Calm
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #42 on: October 25, 2005, 11:53:12 pm »
Doom 3 hates me.

I did finally get it to run at a solid 60 fps though...

... but everything was black so it was unplayable :(
"It's like growing up reading good books or listening to good music. One good sofa breeds another good sofa; one bad sofa breeds another bad sofa. That's how it goes."

Offline Torp v2.0

  • Global Moderator
  • Machinae Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 5736
  • Karma: 143
  • Gender: Male
  • Happiness is Mandatory!
    • My homepage
Re: Quake 4
« Reply #43 on: October 26, 2005, 12:08:46 am »
Doom 3 hates me.

I did finally get it to run at a solid 60 fps though...

... but everything was black so it was unplayable :(

That's no fault of your system...that's how it's supposed to be.
...why Torp was picked over you... HE'S JUST BETTER THAN YOU IN EVERY RESPECT. -SomethingGood
<Radicz0r> Torp is well prepared for universal destruction

[03:18:49] <WereVolvo> ARCTIC
[03:18:51] <WereVolvo> not arctic